1,000 Girls Become First Female Eagle Scouts

Earning the title of “Eagle Scout” from the Boy Scouts of America is an honor only few achieve, and until recently, it was an honor limited to those who identify as male. 

Now, for the first time in the 109-year history of the Boy Scouts, the prestigious honor is being bestowed to 1,000 young women leaders. 

Isabella Tunney / Credit: Handout

In 2018, after years of requests, The Boy Scouts finally allowed girls to join in their programs. The title of Eagle Scout is a prestigious award that is performance-based, and remains the highest achievement in the organization. On average, only 6% of participants rise to the rank of Eagle Scout.

“I don’t think any of us really thought this day would come. For me to be a part of that first class and say that I did it, I’m really proud of myself.”

Kendall Jackson, Eagle Scout

Out of the 136 merit badges one can earn, 21 must be earned to qualify as an Eagle Scout. 13 badges are required, including: First Aid, Citizenship in the Community, Citizenship in the Nation, Citizenship in the World, Communication, Cooking, Personal Fitness, Personal Management, Camping, and Family Life.

In addition, a Scout has a choice between Emergency Preparedness and Lifesaving, Cycling, Hiking, and Swimming, and Environmental Science and Sustainability.

“Eagle Scout is so much more than a medal or an award. It’s an expectation and a lifestyle. It means that you’re a role model to your community every day of your life. Once an Eagle, always an Eagle.”

Lyndsey Nedrow, Eagle Scout

Written by Abigale Racine